Schooling

The Guardian

Image

Michael Kenna

 Image

NegsandPrints

Image

Image

The Guardian

Image

Image

Peter Hulance

I should probably point out early on that I am an Anglophile. Anything dealing with the English culture will immediately spur my fancy and have me looking for more. One of my unrealized fantasies was to attend a proper English boarding school. Whether it’s the gothic architecture or the wooly knits, looking at pictures of those young intellectuals made we want to abandon the freedom of public school for the rules and traditions of the English education. Anglophile aside, I am also a child of the Harry Potter phenomena. I am not ashamed of my Hogwarts roots and can probably say my yearning for the English boarding school tradition might be slightly attributed to this.

Needless-to-say, when I found out Universal Studios made a Harry Potter World – WORLD, not land people – it was in my destiny to make a trip to Orlando. How I convinced my dad to join me I still cannot fathom, but we made for the world of all things good; butter beer, castles, chocolate frogs, and a hogs head that moves. I really cannot see what else is necessary.

Sadly, I never received my Hogwarts acceptance letter when I was 12, but I did get to experience a little taste of the damp hallways and dimly lit common rooms of my boarding school dreams. Who knows, maybe my acceptance letter to Hogwarts Graduate School is flying to me right now…

Image
My Own
Image
 My Own
Tagged

What are you thinking?

